The current “Wisconsin River Golf Club” originated in 1959 as “Wisconsin River Country Club”. It was chartered by Charles and Tessie Teeter who decided to take a portion of their land and create a golf and hospitality destination. Construction began on the original nine, known now as the “river nine” in 1959. Construction was a group effort with many of the members instrumental in clearing and building what became a very rustic golf experience. The 37 original charter members were able to play the course late in 1960, with the clubhouse opening in 1961. The original clubhouse was a remodeled two car garage that had six additions put on over the next nine years.
In 1969 construction of the second nine, known now as the “road nine”, began. A year later, in 1970 the entire eighteen hole course was ready for play. Shortly thereafter, disaster struck. On August 11th, 1970 a bolt of lightning set fire to the original clubhouse structure. It quickly burned to the ground with next to nothing salvaged. In the fall of 1970 construction of the clubhouse that now stands began. It was completed in the spring of 1971 and opened for that golf season.
The Teeter family continued to own and operate the golf course until about 1980. It then went through several ownership changes over the next six years. Many different ideas were considered for the property including the possible construction of a marina next to the ninth fairway. Funding these ideas was difficult and changes in environmental laws regarding flood plain and wetland construction eventually led to these plans being abandoned.
In 1987 the Giddings family purchased the golf course. Over the next fourteen years, they improved the property in many ways. Over 5800 trees were planted, thirty two new bunkers were added, and thirty five new tee boxes were constructed. A 2 1/2 acre pond was also added to the twelfth hole. This time of tree planting and renovating the original design was very important in creating the enjoyable layout that exists today.
On January 30th, 2001 the property was purchased by Bill and Jennifer Stupar. Since 2001, the property improvements have continued. The clubhouse has been completely remodeled. Extensive drainage work has been done on the golf course. A new irrigation system was installed in 2010. Cart paths have been added. The clubhouse now has a second level wrap around deck overlooking the 18th green and 10th tee. The result has been what we consider to be the best golf value in central Wisconsin.
In 2015, the Wisconsin River Golf Club was voted Business of the Year by the Plover Area Business Association. In 2016, the Stupar family was named Volunteer family of the Year by the Stevens Point Area YMCA. This facility and its ownership continue to be active and important part of the central Wisconsin community. Wisconsin River Golf Club continues to provide an ever improving, affordable, high level golf and hospitality experience.